Life drawing and Photography

10/10/2019 :

In the morning I attended to a photography workshop which helps us get to know the way to use the camera and those function (ISO , aperture and shutter speed )on the camera which makes images look better . We first trying out with using different level of the functions on the camera with taking portrait photographs with my partner outside and inside the University building and I found that the inside and the outside is so different with the levels of the ISO and aperture , when we were inside the Iso have to be higher so the photo won’t came up too dark , we tried on different level of ISO from 400 -1600 and 1600 is the best for taking portrait inside the building because the lighting is suitable while the ISO level below and higher is too dark and bright . When we go outside , the ISO is so much different and because of the weather is very sunny so the ISO have to be much more lower than when we were inside the building , we tried on serval levels as well and we ended up that 400 ISO is working the best with outside the building and under the sunshine as the ISO can makes the person faces and the background darker so the images will not be looking too bright . Then we did another style of photography in a studio style which having some gel paper with red , green and blue with the light and connecting the camera we took some photos of portrait by using those tools to turn the colour of the photo into more dark and in a mystery feeling . For this time , the ISO is 400 and the aperture is 1/20 .

In the afternoon , I did the life drawing session . We started by outlining and drawing the model body shape .

4 difference poses

Then we started to draw one in 2 minutes with a simple drawing .

Increasing the timing of the drawing to makes the drawing better . This time we learnt to draw the shadow as well and having a white crayon to for the bright part .

Then I took an random colour crayon , yellow for another drawing with the function on highlight the brightest part on the body from the light .


I can see the differences between the really first drawing to the last drawing , the drawing skills increases so quickly in this 2 and a half hour with the increasing of requires of the shadow , highlight ,etc . I think I did well in drawing the body quite right , the shape are quite accurate as well , the shadow is shown as well in some darker places, I think I chose the right colour ,yellow to do the highlighting as its really helped to show the brightness places on the body . I was quite confused and afraid with mistakes while drawing the second drawing , because I am not using a pencil and I don’t have an eraser and time is short and limiting as well so I wasn’t confident enough to do the drawing , however , after looking at the others drawing which is in a straight curve line with the outline of the body shape , I decided to be more confidents to draw and therefore my drawings were getting better and better .

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started